Renew in just 5 mins.
No Inspection. No Paper Work
* Subject To Underwriting
punjab rto

Car Insurance Plans

Vehicle registration number is required. Invalid registration number.Sample: DL-01-KY-3053
Previous Insurer is required.
Previous Policy Number is required.
Old quotation number is required. Invalid quotation number.Sample: PIBLMTRPC000000000000000

Regional Transport Office (RTO) Punjab

The Punjab Transport Department functions under the provisions of section 213 of Motor Vehicles Act, 1988 and enforces the provisions of the Motor Vehicles Act, 1988, Punjab Motor Vehicles Taxation Act, 1924, and the rules framed under these two acts.

The department has set up RTOs in different cities of the state in order to decentralize the administration and be closer to the public. All the work pertaining to the registration of vehicles, driving licenses, taxation, issue and renewal of fitness certificates, etc is carried out by these offices.

The RTOs have also instituted 32 automated driving test tracks distributed geographically in the state keeping the public convenience in mind and vehicle population within the region.

Day-To-Day Functions Of Punjab RTO

Punjab RTOs overlook the implementation of the following regulations:

1. Driving License

The Punjab RTO conducts the tests for issuing various driving licenses in the state. Issues the following type of licenses basis the tests:

  • Learner’s license
  • Driving license

2. Registration of a Motor Vehicle

No person is allowed to drive their vehicle in public, nor will the owner allow anyone else to drive the vehicle until it has been registered according to Chapter IV of the MV Act, 1988. The Regional Transport Office conducts the following tasks related to registration:

  • Temporary Registration
  • Permanent Registration
  • Renewal of the registration certificate.
  • Issue a duplicate registration certificate.
  • Change of residence.
  • Endorse a hire-purchase agreement.
  • Terminate a hire-purchase agreement.
  • Transfer of ownership for the registration certificate
  • Issue a no-objection certificate.

3. Permits

Punjab is split into four regions, each of which is administered by a regional transport authority as per Section 68 of the Motor Vehicles Act of 1988. These authorities are headed by one state transport commissioner. The Motor Vehicles Act and Rules empower the regional transport authorities and give them the power to discharge these duties, one of which is granting permits. The RTO issues the following permits:

  • Tourist Vehicle permit
  • National permit

4. Taxes

Eleven tax collection centers have been established in the state to collect tax from vehicles entering Punjab from other states.

5. Fees

The RTOs are authorized to collect fees for services on vehicle registration and driving license.

  • Registration fees
Type of VehicleAmount
Invalid carriageINR 20
BikeINR 60
Non – Transport
Light commercial vehicle
INR 200
INR 300
Imported Motor VehicleINR 800
Imported BikeINR 200
Any other vehicleINR 300
Change of residenceINR 20
Alteration in the registration certificateINR 50


  • Licensing Fees
Type of VehicleAmount
Issue or renewal of Learner’s License of each vehicle classINR 30
Issue of a Permanent Driving License of each vehicle classINR 50
Issue of driving license in Form 7INR 200
Driving testINR 50
Addition of another class of vehicle to the existing driving licenseINR 50
Renewal of driving licenseINR 50

Punjab State RTO Codes

Chandigarh PB-01 Rajpura PB-39
Amritsar PB-02 Rampura Phul PB-40
Bathinda PB-03 Sultanpur Lodhi PB-41
Faridkot PB-04 Samana PB-42
Faridkot PB-05 Samrala PB-43
Gurdaspur PB-06 Sunam PB-44
Hoshiarpur PB-07 Talwandi Sabo PB-45
Jalandhar PB-08 Tarn Taran PB-46
Kapurthala PB-09 Zira PB-47
Ludhiana PB-10 Amloh PB-48
Patiala PB-11 Khamano PB-49
Ropar PB-12 Budhlada PB-50
Sangrur PB-13 Jhunir / Sardulgarh PB-51
Ajnala PB-14 Bassi Pathana PB-52
Abohar PB-15 Malout PB-53
Anandpur Sahib PB-16 Mukerian PB-54
Baba Bakala PB-17 Payal PB-55
Batala PB-18 Raikot PB-56
Barnala PB-19 Bhulath PB-57
Balachaur PB-20 Dera Baba Nanak PB-58
Dasuya PB-21 Dhuri PB-59
Fazilka PB-22 Gidderbaha PB-60
Fatehgarh Sahib PB-23 Jalalabad PB-61
Garhshankar PB-24 Jaitu PB-62
Jagraon PB-25 Khadoor Sahib PB-63
Khanna PB-26 Moonak PB-64
Kharar PB-27 Mohali PB-65
Malerkotla PB-28 Nihal Singh Wala PB-66
Moga PB-29 Shahkot PB-67
Muktsar PB-30 Dhar Kalan PB-68
Mansa PB-31 Bagha Purana PB-69
Nawanshahr PB-32 Dera Bassi PB-70
Nakodar PB-33 Chamkaur Sahib PB-71
Nabha PB-34 Patran PB-72
Pathankot PB-35 Tappa Mandi PB-73
Phagwara PB-36 Nangal PB-74
Phillaur PB-37 Lehra PB-75
Patti PB-38 Ahmedgarh PB-76

2. What registration services do Punjab's RTOs offer?

Punjab’s RTOs offer the following services on vehicle registration –

  • Temporary registration
  • Permanent registration
  • Registration certificate renewal
  • Duplicate registration certificate
  • Change of address
  • Endorsement and termination of hire-purchase agreements

3. How can I apply for a NOC with a Punjab RTO?

To apply for a NOC at a Punjab RTO, fill 3 copies of Form 28 and submit them to the registering authority who previously registered or transferred the vehicles. Attach the copies of the registration certificate of the vehicle and address proof while submitting.